Processing options (SOP settings / Invoice and order settings)

Unless specified, these settings apply to the Invoicing and Sales Order Processing (SOP) modules.

Find this screen

Open: Sales Order Processing > SOP Utilities > System Set Up > SOP Settings | Processing.

Open: Sales Order Processing > SOP Utilities > System Set Up > View SOP Settings | Processing.

Open: Invoicing > Invoicing Utilities > System Set Up > Invoicing Settings | Processing.

Open: Invoicing > Invoicing Utilities > System Set Up > View Invoicing Settings | Processing.

Set order pricing

Choose whether to the selling prices on your invoices include or exclude VAT. Select either Prices exclude VAT or Prices include VAT.

How you want to handle the VAT element of prices may depend on whether the types of items you are selling are exempt from VAT. A price inclusive of VAT may be appropriate when selling to the public.

You can't change this setting once an order or invoice has been entered.

Choose when stock is allocated - sales orders only

You can choose to allocate stock to sales orders manually or automatically.

  • To allocate stock automatically, select Allocate stock on order entry.

    Stock is allocated as orders are entered in turn. You can't set a priority of one customer over another.

    When the order quantity is entered, stock is allocated straight away, up to the amount of free stock available. You can change this per order, if required.

    If you set this, then you can also choose to print picking lists automatically (Document Printing tab).

  • To allocate stock manually, clear the Allocate stock on order entry checkbox.

    All stock must be allocated to orders using the Allocate stock screens before an order can be recorded as despatched. This is useful if you want to use other criteria to allocate stock, such as the order priority, or order promised date.

Note: When entering sales orders using the trade counter order entry, stock is allocated to the order automatically regardless of this setting, provided there is sufficient stock available.

Allow picking lists to be changed - sales orders only

The picking lists shows the location of the stock items on the order to help your warehouse staff prepare the order for despatch. If you're using batch and serial numbered items, these are also shown here.

There may be occasions when the items to be despatched are not in the same location as the picking list and you need to change it.

  • If you want to allow picking lists to be changed, select Allow picking lists to be amended.

    When a pickling list is amended, the associated stock allocations are also updated.

  • If you don't want to let picking lists be changed, clear this option.

    If different goods are selected, then you must manually amendments the order allocations to make sure the right stock is recorded as despatched.

Before you can select this option, you must also select Print picking lists for orders on the Document Printing tab.

Note: This does not apply to the picking lists generated using trade counter order entry.

Choose when stock levels are updated - sales orders only

Here you can choose which part of the order process updates the stock level.

  • If you want to update the stock levels when goods are despatched, select Order despatch is confirmed.

    Note: This will update stock levels immediately when you confirm goods despatched, even you set a Despatch date that's in the future.

  • If you want to update the stock levels when the invoice is posted, select Invoice is posted.

    You can also choose which date is used in the stock history. The records the movement of stock as Out SOP.

    • If you want to use the invoice date, select Use the invoice date on the stock history.
    • If you want to use the despatch date, clear this option.

Note: You cannot change this setting once whilst you have orders that require processing.

Choose how non stock items are despatched - sales orders only

Use these options to control when to print your invoices.

You can only create and print invoices from your sales orders, once goods are despatched. As free text lines and service / labour type stock items don't need to despatched, these lines can be included on invoices straight away. This can result in these items being included on invoices before the services have been supplied.

Here you can choose when to include these items on invoices:

  • If you want to confirm service or free text items at the same time as confirming stock items as despatched, select Confirm with Goods Despatched/Received.

    This means these item lines must be recorded as despatched using the SOP - Confirm Goods Despatched option, before the invoice can be printed. Both stock and free text items appear on the despatch note. Using this prevents invoices being sent to customers before the services are supplied.

  • If you want to confirm when free text lines or services have been supplied separately, select Confirm as Service/Free Text.

    This means these item lines must be recorded as despatched using the SOP- Confirm Services Despatched option. Stock and free text items appear on separate despatch notes. You still use the SOP- Confirm Goods Despatched option for normal stock items.

  • If you want to be able to invoice free text or service lines straight away, select Confirmation not required.

Note: If you have the correct user permissions, you can only override these settings when entering order lines.

Keep records of cancelled order and invoice lines

You can keep a record and report on your cancelled orders and invoices:

  • If you want to save a history of cancelled orders and invoices, select Record details of cancelled orders for future analysis.

    All orders and invoices cancelled in full are saved in a history file, which you can report on. A Cancelled lines button to the View screens.

    Sales orders only - When you remove individual items or reduce an item quantity on sales orders, you can also choose to save this as a cancelled line.

  • If you don't t want to keep cancellation information, clear this option.

    Note: If you clear option after saving some orders in the history file, you will need to confirm that you want to change the setting. Once you confirm this, the system will remove the stored history of cancelled orders.

Choose how invoices and credit notes are posted to customer accounts

Invoice and credit note transactions can be posted to your customer accounts as soon as they're posted, or sent to the pending postings file.

Payments linked to orders are always posted directly to the customer's account.

  • To post to your customer accounts straight away, select Add directly to the Sales Ledger.
  • To post to the pending posting file, clear this option.