Allocate customer transactions

Find this screen

Open: Customers > Enter Transactions > Sales Allocation

Watch a video

Allocate payments, receipts, credit notes and invoices (video)

How to

Allocate individual transactions

  1. Choose the customer.
  2. Enter the allocation date or choose it from the date picker .
  3. Choose a Credit (receipt or credit note) from the top section.

  4. Double-click in the Allocate column - this adds the full amount.

    To part allocate, enter an amount in the Allocate column.

  5. Match to a Debit (invoice or refund) in the bottom section.
  6. Double-click in the Allocate column - this adds the full amount.

    To part allocate, enter an amount in the Allocate column.

  7. Click Save.

You can't save until the difference is 0.00.

Allocate transactions automatically

This adds up all the credit transactions and allocates them to the debit transactions in date order, starting with the oldest. Where amounts don't match exactly, the remaining amount is part allocated.

This is very quick and all outstanding receipts are allocated. However, using this method means you can't choose which invoices are matched to receipts or write off any discrepancies as discounts.

  1. Choose the customer.
  2. Enter the allocation date or choose it from the date picker .
  3. Click Auto Allocate.

    An Allocate value is entered for the all transactions until the difference is 0.00.

  4. Click Save.

Set or remove a query flag

Use this to mark transactions as queried whilst you investigate. Once the transaction has a query against it, it can't be allocated.

You can use any character that's meaningful to you, apart from W.

W means that the transaction has been marked as a bad debt for write off.

  1. Select the transaction you want to query.

  2. Enter the character you want to use in the Query column (apart from W).

  3. To remove a query, clear the Query column.

Reverse (cancel) all allocations

Use this to cancel or unallocate everything on the screen. All the allocated amounts are cleared and you can start again.

To change an allocation that's already been saved, use the Amend Allocations screen.

  1. Click Reverse.

  2. Choose whether to reverse:

    1. Debits and Credits - this clears everything on the screen.

    2. Debits only - this just clears the debits.

Unallocate a single transaction

  1. Find the transaction(s) to unallocate.
  2. Change the Allocation value. To completely unallocate it, change the value to 0.00.
  3. Find the corresponding Debit or Credit transaction, and change the Allocation value.
  4. Once the Difference is 0.00, click Save.

Create and allocate a new receipt

If you've realised you've got a receipt missing and want to add it straight away, use the receipt option.

  1. Choose the invoice you want to pay and click Receipt.

    The Enter Customer Receipt screen appears.

  2. Check that it's the right bank account and change where necessary.
  3. Check the details and change where necessary.

    The amount, and a reference of Allocation are already entered.

  4. Click Save.

    The receipt is added to the Credits list and allocated to the invoice.

Change a saved allocation

Once you've saved an allocation you can still change the allocated amounts or to allocate to a different transaction. You do this using the Amend Sales Allocation screen.

Search for:

  1. Choose the customer from the drop-down lists.
  2. Find the transaction to change. Search by:
    1. Type - choose from the drop-down list.
    2. Date - enter the transaction date or use the date picker .
    3. Reference - enter the reference.
  3. Click Display.
  4. Select a transaction or session.

    If the transaction was allocated in more than one allocation sessionDetails of the all receipts matched to invoices and saved together., all the relevant sessions are displayed.

    The Alloc Type shows whether the transaction was allocated by you or by a Sage 200cloud process, such as contra entry or write off.

  5. Click Edit. This opens the allocation screen and displays the details of the transactions allocated in the session.

Useful info

Tips for allocating transactions

  • Use Auto allocation for allocating large numbers of transactions quickly and you don't mind which invoices are matched to receipts.
  • Don't use Auto Allocation if you're allocating transactions with settlement discounts as it's hard to work out whether remaining amounts are part payments or discounts.
  • Double-click in the Allocation column to automatically enter the outstanding balance.
  • If a date's highlighted in yellow, then the settlement discount is still valid.
  • If you don't want an invoice to be allocated, give it a query flag here or on the Transaction Enquiry. You can use any letter for the query flag apart from the reserved characters W for bad debt write off, and F for finance charges.

Allocating foreign currency transactions

When foreign currency transactions are allocated, the exchange rates entered on the transactions are compared.

If there is a difference, the exchange gain or loss is calculated and posted to the following nominal accounts:

Nominal Account Debit Credit
Debtors Control Account Gain Loss
Exchange Differences Account Loss Gain

Writing off discrepancies as discounts

If you offer your customer a settlement discount, and your customer pays within the agreed period, then they will pay the invoice amount less the settlement discount. You'll need to take this into account when you allocate.

When you enter the details of the receipt, we recommend that you establish whether the money you've received represents the full payment with no discount, full payment with a discount, or a part payment. You can then enter the discount amount when you record the receipt. This makes sure that:

  • The receipt value matches the invoice value.
  • The discount amount is posted to the Discounts Allowed nominal account.

However, if you enter the receipt without specifying the discount, you can choose to write off the difference between the invoice total and receipt total when you save the allocation.

For example, your invoice total is £119. You've entered a payment of £114 as the customer has taken the discount. You allocate the £114 to the invoice (£119). When you save the allocation, you choose to write off the difference as discount. The £5 difference is posted to the Discounts Allowed nominal account.

Allocation dates

When you save the allocation, a history of all the transactions that have been allocated together is saved using the allocation date. This creates an Allocation Session.

The details of these sessions can be seen when amending allocations. They show you who allocated them and all the transactions included in that session.


What happens when

Save the allocation

Once the Difference is zero, you can save the allocations. When you save:

  • A history of the allocated transactions is saved in an allocation sessionDetails of the all receipts matched to invoices and saved together. using the Allocation date.

    These sessions can be seen when amending or unallocating transactions. They show you who performed the allocations and show all the transactions included in that session.

  • The allocated transactions are marked as paid and the outstanding value changed to 0.00. (or the remaining value if it's part-allocated).
  • The customer's balance is not affected.
  • Your nominal accounts are not affected.