Sending reports to the spooler allows you to continue to work without waiting for your reports to be printed. This is useful if you have a large number of reports to print. The reports stay in the spooler until you delete them. You can print them as often as you require.
Print and manage your reports
Open: Spooler .
Tip: You can also press Ctrl+Shift+S to open the spooler window.
This shows a list of all reports that have been sent to the spooler.
View: Preview the report on screen.
Print: Print the report.
The report Status will change from Not Printed to Printed, and it will remain in the spooler queue if you need to print it again.
Email: Email the report.
If you have not entered any email options for the report in Report Designer, this opens your email program for you to set up an email message. The report file will be attached to the email.
If you have set up email options for the report in Report Designer, this emails the report to the specified recipients.
Delete: Delete the report from the spooler queue.
It is good practice to delete old reports from the spooler queue regularly to prevent it from getting too large.
Note: You can only delete reports from the spooler if you have access to the Delete Spooler Content feature set in User Access.
Refresh: Update the list. This is useful if you have been deleting old reports.
Use Filters to only show the reports you're interested in.
- You can filter the list by Report name, the User who produced the document, the Company (if you use multiple companies), the date of the report, or the status of the report (printed or not printed). Once you've selected the criteria, click Display to filter the list.
- If you've filtered the list and want to show all reports again, click Reset.
Sort the list. Click a column heading to sort the list of reports by that column. Click again to swap between ascending and descending order.
Note: You can't use the Data To Excel feature when reports are sent to the spooler. If you want to use this, then you'll need to Preview the report.
Use the spooler in the Web Portal and Sage 200 desktop
Documents in the spooler are shared in both the Web Portal and in the Sage 200 desktop. So documents you send to the spooler in the Sage 200 desktop are available in the Web Portal, and documents you send to the spooler in the Web Portal are available in the Sage 200 desktop.
In the Web Portal, reports are always sent to the spooler. This is not affected by the Output Mode setting in the Sage 200 desktop.
In the Sage 200 desktop, reports are only sent to the spooler if the Output Mode is set to Spooler.
When you use the spooler in the Web Portal, you can only see documents for the current Company that were sent from your own User account. You cannot view documents from other companies, or documents sent to the spooler by other users.
You can control access for users to view, print or delete documents on the print spooler.
You can assign the following features for the user in User Access:
Print Spooling > Access Spooler Content.
Allow the user to access only their own documents on the spooler (in the Sage 200 desktop).
Print Spooling > Access All Spooler Content.
Allow the user to access any documents on the spooler (in the Sage 200 desktop), including documents from other users .
Print Spooling > Delete Spooler Content.
Allow the user to delete documents from the spooler (in the Sage 200 desktop).
Print Spooling > Spooler (Web Portal)
Allow the user to access only their own documents on the spooler (in the Web Portal).
Note: Users of the spooler in the Web Portal cannot currently access documents from other users, or delete documents.
To assign feature access to users in User Access, see Assign feature access to users.